Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Factoring in Electrification: Designs for a Renewable Energy Grid

November 24 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm PST

Noon PST – 1PM MT – 2PM CT – 3PM EST

Electrification is the buzzword du jour for decarbonization, and it’s pushing policymakers to rethink how they structure everything, from local codes, to energy models, to how they incentivize programs focused on high performance buildings. Passive House has always provided a careful accounting of ‘source energy,’ looking closely at which fuels power which appliances and HVAC equipment, noting that not all source energy is equal. This presentation will delve into how the Passive House standard is structured to support both electrification and decarbonization. We’ll delve into the back end of the Primary Energy Renewables framework, seeing how these apply specifically to our chapter regions (plus a few additional regions where Passive House is being heavily adopted.) Lastly, we’ll look at how these renewable source energy factors work using a specific project as an example.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Describe how electrical energy generation works and determine individual national grids in various regions.
  2. Outline why electricity now has a lower carbon footprint than other fuel sources, such as fossil gas.
  3. Describe how different energy models can either incentivize or penalize electric buildings.
  4. Outline how the PHPP helps support electrification, how the support varies by region and what the factors are in various areas.

1 AIA LU

Presenters:
Bronwyn Barry, RA, CPHD
Dylan Martello, SWA

Details

Date:
November 24
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm PST
Event Category:
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUlfuuhqTsqGtB0pSHf99CvQiIeOJBhPjYh

Organizer

Passive House America

Venue

Online